Kyusha Kai


Non Car Stuff
August 23, 2010, 10:46 am
Filed under: Random | Tags:

Started off my day last week at 3am to hike the Stairway to Heaven, or the Ha’iku stairs with Reese before he returned to California for college. I have no idea why he invited me. I’m about as in shape as a tub of Jello and this hike was the most physically intense thing I have ever tried. The trek is a 3,922 stair ascent up a mountain to the peak where the Navy had built a radio antenna back in the 1940’s. Needless to say, I failed horribly and only made it about halfway up and spent the rest of the time relaxing at the first platform. 4,000 stairs sounds tough, but tough doesn’t even begin to describe how hard it is. Much of the staircase is nearly vertical, making it more akin to climbing a ladder than stairs. Combine that with the morning dew making the stairs slick and some questionable railings, I was scared to death of falling down the side of the mountain. Regardless of all this, the view at the halfway point was breathtaking!

Overlooking Kaneohe Bay at the break of dawn.

The hike starts right below the H3 highway and pretty much goes vertical from there.

Etched into the concrete at the first landing. I shoulda went home.

Random cool. Bamboo growing out of a manhole cover.

Any normal person would have ended the day there. But I’m far from normal. Went with some buddies for an overnight fishing trip on the other side of the island in Kawela Bay. Watching the sunrise from the top of a mountain, then the sunset on the beach really made me realize how much I love Hawaii.

Fishing in the moonlight till 6am!

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I love that first pic

Comment by monkeymagic86

Beautiful shots Lants!

Comment by Freddy!

Those photos are amazing!

Comment by Yuta

1st photo owned my day!

Comment by Ray




Leave a Reply

