Kyusha Kai


Doin’ Work
June 17, 2012, 12:20 am
Filed under: Kyusha | Tags: , , , , ,

Been putting some time into the wagon… and yes, these are all Instagram photos. I’m too lazy to lug around my camera, so phone pictures will have to do.

She’s currently sitting two inches lower via drop blocks and AGX adjustable Camaro shocks in the rear, and 280zx struts/brakes and Techno Toy Tuning coilovers, camber plates, RCA’s, and tension control rods in the front. I also threw on a set of 15×7 +11 SSR Longchamps that I had in storage with almost new Nexen (cheap-o) tires.

I’m still waiting to install or receive: T3 control arms, T3 tie rods, T3 strut tower bar, Energy Suspension poly sway bar bushings, a new idler arm, 280zx rear disc brakes (with handbrake), an extra leaf to flip and stiffen up the rear, poly and brass leaf pucks (bushings), Goodridge braided brake lines,

I basically bought T3’s entire front end to create the most rugged street wagon possible. My thoughts on T3’s parts: Super beefy and over-engineered for a street car… I will likely never need the strength and adjustability that they offer, but I love knowing that it’s there. The downsides is that the spring is too short for my taste (seven inch spring) so the adjuster is maxed out on the top of the coilover sleeve, but I’m going to get a nine inch spring to offer even greater adjustability. Also, the T3 website doesn’t mention that the strut tower bar interferes with the stock hood prop, but the parts to convert to hood struts should be arriving at my door step any day now.

Just for giggles, I picked up a set of headlight trim, or “visors”, because I saw them on my friend Justin’s old Corolla wagon and loved the look. The chrome is super shiny and makes my trim and grill look like crap though.

I’ve got a bunch more parts coming that will add to the style and functionality of the goon, but alas, she will soon be too well built for that asthmatic L16. Soon enough, the engine build parts hoarding can begin!

 

Oh, and big thanks to the world famous BKH808, Justin, Jordan for helping out with the installs.  Couldn’t have done it without them.

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I hate the fact that you just had a set of Longchamps laying about.. lol. I want a set for my Z, but having a hard time finding one. The wagon’s awesome, though! Keep it up!

Comment by Torby

Haha, the sizes are super weak on mines. They’re popping up on Club4ag, but people want an arm and a leg for them now! I bought this set (15×7 +11) for $500 with tires a few years ago… theres a set of 4ag right now (same sizes) for $1700! Although, his are a lot cleaner than mine…

Comment by kyushakai

Saw your car in Hawaii Kai the other week, looking good!

Comment by Travis

Thanks! She’s slowly looking better!

Comment by kyushakai




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 83 other followers

